You are currently using an outdated browser. For the best viewing experience, please upgrade your browser here.


Welcome to the State Electricity Commission of Victoria (SECV).

The SECV was established in 1918 and the State Government appointed “Electricity Commissioners” responsible for generation and distribution of electricity throughout the State.


The SECV was established in 1921 to supply electricity to Victoria.

This role continued until 1993 when it was disaggregated into generation, transmission and distribution companies that were further split and privatised in the mid to late 90’s. However the Electricity Supply Agreements with Portland and Point Henry aluminium smelters were retained by SECV, which under Vicpower Trading continues as electricity supplier.


SECV operates in the context of the National Electricity Market (NEM), incorporating the States of:

  • Victoria
  • New South Wales
  • South Australia
  • Queensland
  • Tasmania

Victorian Government Statutory Body

SECV is a Victorian Government statutory body that operates under the Electricity Industry Act 2000 (incorporating the Electricity Industry (Residual Provisions) Act 1993), and a Direction from the Treasurer dated 14th November 2001. The Direction covers the scope of energy trading and non-core functions and the establishment of an Executive Committee.