You are currently using an outdated browser. For the best viewing experience, please upgrade your browser here.

Pre 1993


In 1918 the SECV was established and the State Government appointed “Electricity Commissioners” responsible for generation and distribution of electricity throughout the State.

The Commissioners’ prime task was to exploit the vast brown coal reserves of the Latrobe Valley for electricity generation, thereby freeing Victoria from its dependence on imported fuel.


In 1921, the title “Electricity Commissioners” was changed to the “State Electricity Commission of Victoria”, with Sir John Monash (see separate tab)appointed as full-time Chairman.

In the same year, work began on preparing the site at Yallourn for open-cut mining.


In 1924 power began to flow from the first generator at Yallourn (the first brown coal power station outside Germany) to Melbourne.

This was the beginning of an electricity supply industry that was to become the lifeblood of industrial and economic development throughout the State.

The SECV has been inextricably linked to all the major industrial developments in the State and, indeed, has played an integral role in achieving a high living standard for Victorians.


Highlights in the SECV’s history include:


Opening of Victoria’s first hydro-electric stations, the Rubicon-Royston system.

The Rubicon Hydroelectric Scheme is a small run-of-the-river hydroelectric scheme located on the Rubicon and Royston Rivers, north east of Melbourne, 40 km (25 mi) south-west of Alexandra, Victoria, Australia. The scheme commenced in 1922, and was the first state-owned hydroelectric scheme to generate electricity in mainland Australia, and among the first in the world to be remotely controlled.

For the first ten years of its operation it supplied on average 16.9% of electricity generated by the State Electricity Commission of Victoria.

1928 - 1962

Completion of Yallourn Power Station (A, B, C, D, and E).

The Yallourn Power Station was a complex of six brown coal–fuelled thermal power stations built progressively from the 1920s to the 1960s. Located in the Latrobe Valley of Victoria, Australia, the complex was situated beside the Latrobe River, with the company town of Yallourn located to the south west. Today only the 1,450 megawatts Yallourn W plant remains.

The adjacent open Yallourn brown coal mine is the largest open cut coal mine in Australia, with reserves to meet the projected needs of the power station to 2032.

1968 - 1970

Introduction of Australia’s first 500 kV transmission system

The first stage of the 500kV transmission system was placed in service in June 1970, and the second of the second of the two 500 kV lines from Hazelwood to Keilor has been in service since December 1971.


Hazelwood Power Station completed


Electrification of State completed, making Victoria the only mainland state where all electricity


Snowy Hydro Scheme completed.


Newport Power Station completed


Loy Yang A Power Station completed


Industry leading “Greenhouse Discussion Paper” released for public comment


Interconnection of Victoria, NSW and South Australian electricity grids completed


Loy Yang B Unit 1 Power Station completed

POST 1993


SECV disaggregated into:

  1. Mining & generation (Generation Victoria)
  2. Transmission & security (National Electricity)
  3. Distribution & retailing (Electricity Services Victoria)

Oct 1994

Electricity Services Victoria disaggregated into five distribution companies:

  1. DB1 Eastern Energy now Ausnet Services
  2. DB2 Powercor
  3. DB3 Solaris now Jemena Electricity
  4. DB4 Citipower
  5. DB5 United Energy

Jan 1995

Generation Victoria disaggregated into five generation companies:

  1. Loy Yang Power
  2. Ecogen
  3. Hazelwood
  4. Southern Hydro
  5. Yallourn Energy


Completion of Yallourn Power Station clearance.


Completion of Loy Yang B Power Station


Snowy Mountains Hydro-electric Authority corporatized – SECV has 29% equity holding


Cessation of Smelter Reduction Amount

2005 - Present

Generation Victoria disaggregated into five generation companies:

  • Supplier of power to Portland and Point Henry smelters
  • Holder of 29% of Snowy Hydro Ltd
  • Manager of residual activities arising from the privatisation of Victorian electricity, gas and ports industries

Sir John Monash

Sir John Monash was born in West Melbourne on 27 June 1865. He died of a heart attack on 8 October 1931 aged sixty six. Of German origin, he was educated at Scotch College and then at Melbourne University where he graduated in engineering, arts and law.

Monash was an ambitious and intelligent man who went on to have a successful career in the army rising to the rank of General. In 1920 he was appointed to manage the State Electricity Commission. He was a very influential man in the decisions concerning Victoria – 250,000 people attended his State funeral.

Much has been written about Sir John Monash and the following links provide further information :